The default Source / Medium breakdown is not always in line with how you want to evaluate your campaigns. Sometimes you may want to go more granular (say, an Ad Group level), other times more general (say you want to see all organic searches).
Already existing - Customers who have place their first order outside of the acquisition campaign, serve as benchmark against which we compare other groups
Campaign acquired - Customers who have never visited your store before and made their first order during the campaign
Campaign retargeted - Customers who know you already, but they have placed their first order during the campaign
To acquire, you have to attract. And there is nothing more enticing as a sharp price cut. Therefore, we can expect your margin during this acquisition campaign to drop down. And margin is what it is all about at the end of the day.Following on this logic, you can expect first orders of the customers acquired during the campaign to bring in margin well below your long term average (as per group 1). It is therefore just nice to have the new customers onboard, but we really need to look past the first order here.
To sum this up, a good acquisition campaign should bring in customers who make subsequent orders, which bring in higher margin and thus compensate the first order with low margin caused by the sharp acquisition discount.And to complete the evaluation, we also look at cost of user orders. This is calculated as estimated cost per acquisition order of a customer. Assumption here again that high quality customers will return via non-paid channels such as direct, making their subsequent orders without cost on marketing.
Campaigns are evaluated by User ROI 360, which is calculated as:
U ser ROI360 = CV360/CPU
CV360 = profit per user in first 360 since acquisition
CPU = cost per all user orders
Final evaluation compares these three groups by User ROI 360. If campaign acquired users have higher ROI than the long term average in group 3, you are acquiring high value customers and your campaign was a success. You have still room for growth in your market. On the other hand, if your are below the long term average the campaign was not successful. Think about adjustments for further campaings, you can get some inspiration from our webinar on Black Friday evaluation
Loaded transactions from web analytics
Order feed connected
In Power BI, you are asked to fill in these three parameters:
Url parameters: input link from Roivenue
Campaign Start: input start date of acquisition campaing in MM/DD/YYYY format
Campaign End: input end date of acquisition campaing in MM/DD/YYYY format
To setup campaign retargeted group, you need to go to Query editor and to table WebTransactions. This table is disabled for load, but is utilized for campaing categorization. After opening the table, look in applied steps for step Add Conditional Column. Edit this step (sprocket icon) and define which campaigns should be seen as retargeting campaigns.
Follow this logic:
For each string in ad campaign which signifies a retargeting campaign set output as 1. In example above there has been an exception for dpa | broad audience campaign, therefore we set this to 0, which means that the campaign is not retargeting. Save edited conditions by hitting OK.
Top slicers enable for channel and time control. Two graphs below desribe orders placed by the three defined groups.
Left graph focuses on the time period selected in the top date slicer, right side graph focuses only on the campaign period and displays daily orders.
CV360 per user (described above)
Orders per user: average no. of orders per user
Cost per user: cost of all orders placed by per user
Acquired users: active users within group (who have placed an order in the time period)
Gross Margin: gross margin per group
Cost per user first order: cost of acquisition order per user
%GT Count of Web Id: % of total orders by group
Marketing profit per user: marketing profit per user in group
Gross profit: total gross profit per group